Registration Now Open for 25th Annual Hyman P. Minsky Conference

Michael Stephens | December 17, 2015

25th Minsky Conference Banner

The 2016 Minsky Conference will address whether what appears to be a global economic slowdown will jeopardize the implementation and efficiency of Dodd-Frank regulatory reforms, the transition of monetary policy away from zero interest rates, and the “new” normal of fiscal policy, as well as the use of fiscal policies aimed at achieving sustainable growth and full employment. Is economic policy leading to another Minsky moment?

Organized by the Levy Economics Institute of Bard College with support from the Ford Foundation

Levy Economics Institute of Bard College
Annandale-on-Hudson, New York 12504

April 12–13, 2016

The attendance fee is $75 and due upon registration. To register, click here.

Visit the conference website for more information about accommodations and directions to the Levy Institute. (Program details will be posted as they become available.)

A list of participants is below the fold:


Viral V. Acharya, C. V. Starr Professor of Economics, New York University Stern School of Business*

Lakshman Achuthan, Cofounder and Chief Operations Officer, Economic Cycle Research Institute

Emilios Avgouleas, Chair, International Banking Law and Finance, School of Law, University of Edinburgh

Robert J. Barbera, Codirector, Center for Financial Economics, The Johns Hopkins University

Richard Berner, Director, Office of Financial Research, US Department of the Treasury

Vítor Constâncio, Vice President, European Central Bank*

Thomas Ferguson, Director of Research Projects and Advisory Board Member, Institute for New Economic Thinking*

Barney Frank, Former US Representative (D-MA, 4)

Scott Fullwiler, Professor of Economics and James A. Leach Chair in Banking and Monetary Economics, Wartburg College

James K. Galbraith, Senior Scholar, Levy Institute; Lloyd M. Bentsen Jr. Chair in Government/Business Relations and Professor of Government, University of Texas at Austin

Michael Greenberger, Professor, School of Law, and Director, Center for Health and Homeland Security, The University of Maryland

Bruce C. N. Greenwald, Robert Heilbrunn Professor of Finance and Asset Management, Columbia University

Peter Hooper, Managing Director and Chief Economist, Deutsche Bank Securities*

Robert A. Johnson, President, Institute for New Economic Thinking; Senior Fellow and Director, Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt Institute

Edward Kane, Professor of Finance, Boston College

Henry Kaufman, President, Henry Kaufman & Company, Inc.

Stephanie A. Kelton, Research Associate, Levy Institute; Chief Economist, US Senate Budget Committee; Professor, University of Missouri–Kansas City

Jan Kregel, Senior Scholar, Levy Institute; Professor, Tallinn University of Technology

Martin L. Leibowitz, Managing Director, Morgan Stanley*

Dennis P. Lockhart, President and CEO, Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta*

Michael Masters, Founder and Managing Member, Masters Capital Management

Paul McCulley, Former Managing Director and Chief Economist, PIMCO*

Frank N. Newman, Chairman, Promontory Financial Group China Ltd.*

Dimitri B. Papadimitriou, President, Levy Institute

Sarah Bloom Raskin, Deputy Secretary, US Department of the Treasury*

Walker F. Todd, Research Fellow, American Institute for Economic Research

Mario Tonveronachi, Professor of the Economics of Financial Systems, University of Siena

Nydia M. Velázquez, US Representative (D-NY, 7)*

Frank Veneroso, President, Veneroso Associates, LLC

Albert M. Wojnilower, Economic Consultant, Craig Drill Capital*

L. Randall Wray, Senior Scholar, Levy Institute; Professor of Economics, Bard College

* Invited


Leave a Reply