Join Us for the 2022 Levy Institute Summer Seminar

Michael Stephens | January 11, 2022

The Levy Economics Institute of Bard College is pleased to announce it will be holding a summer seminar June 11–18, 2022. Through lectures, hands-on workshops, and breakout groups, the seminar will provide an opportunity to engage with the theory and policy of Modern Money Theory (MMT) and the work of Institute Distinguished Scholars Hyman Minsky and Wynne Godley. Intended for those who are introducing themselves to these approaches as well as those who are looking to deepen their understanding, the seminar will be of particular interest to graduate students, recent graduates, and those at the beginning of their academic or professional careers.

Topics will include the history and theory of money, central bank and treasury operations, inequality and austerity, the job guarantee, MMT and developing economies, current debates over inflation, the Green New Deal, the stock-flow consistent approach to macroeconomic analysis and modeling, financial innovation and the financialization of the economy, cryptocurrency and central bank digital currencies, and more. The teaching staff will include well-known economists, legal scholars, monetary historians, writers, and financial market professionals working in the relevant topic areas.

The seminar will be limited to 60 attendees. Admission will include provision of room and board on the Bard College campus. The fee for the seminar will be $3,000; a fee waiver is available for all those in need.

Applications may be made to Emily Ungvary ([email protected]) and should include a current curriculum vitae and letter of application. Your letter should indicate the nature of your interest in the program and, if applicable, your reasons for requesting a fee waiver. Applications will be reviewed on a rolling basis.

The current list of confirmed faculty and speakers, which continues to grow, is below the fold (in alphabetical order):

Rania Antonopoulos

Raul Carrillo

Christine Desan

Dirk Ehnts

Steven Fazzari

Mathew Forstater

Rohan Grey

Farley Grubb

John Harvey

John Haskell

Geoffrey Ingham

Fadhel Kaboub

Stephanie Kelton

Matthew Klein

Yan Liang

Bill Mitchell

Richard Murphy

Yeva Nersisyan

Michalis Nikiforos

Dimitri Papadimitriou

Paul Sheard

Ndongo Samba Sylla

Pavlina Tcherneva

Eric Tymoigne

L. Randall Wray

Gennaro Zezza



Leave a Reply